See the livestream from the award ceremony at our Facebook page.

Josefine Persson and Katarina Bengtsson are awarded ÅForsk Entrepreneurship scholarship. The prize was announced at Sweden’s Innovation parliament, SIR in Borås tonight. Josefine Persson is one of the founders of Sios who develops an autonomous greenhouse. Katarina Bengtsson is CEO of LunaMicrp. Both companies are active in Science Park Mjärdevi.

ÅForsk is one of the most prestigious recognition an entrepreneur can get. Since its inception in 1985, more than 416 MKR has been awarded in research grants and travel grants to innovators.

SIOS vision is a sustainable and smart city with local farms everywhere, with fresh herbs and vegetables for everyone.

-It is an honor to receive the ÅForsk Entrepreneurial Scholarship, says Josefine Persson, both for me personally and for my company. It really feels like others believe in our idea as well, and especially for the great potential to be gamechanger in how we eat and farm our food in urban environments.

– Sometimes it is hard to be a woman in the entrepreneurial world, so it means a lot to me to win such a prestigious scholarship as this is. Both for me personally, but I also hope to be a role model for other women, so they dare to take a step towards fulfilling their dreams and to believe in themselves. For my business this scholarship also means a lot, it could help us to demonstrate that we a company that really cares about how we develop our community and future to the better.

LunaMicro develops the next generation of water transporting textiles. The novel fabric removes (pumps) sweat and other liquids at least 100 times more effective than current breathable materials, such as Gore-Tex. There patented technology will improve the function of sport and protective garments.

Read more about the åForsk scholarship here: